White Gesso

I am wanting to paint up some of my figures quite vibrantly, such as the Super Dungeon Explore ones.  I have read that for best effects start from a white basecoat. As I get such a good finish from black gesso some time ago i decided to try white, the results weren’t that great, brush strokes showed up and the finish was a bit transparent.

Ive decided to try again.  This time however i bought the same brand and type of gesso, that is Windsor Newton Galeria Acrylic White Gesso.  Here are some images.

The gesso is still wet, as you can see the plastic shows through in some areas.

Dried – The lumpyness has gone, but the clear areas are still showing

Dry different angle

Now as you can see its still a bit transparent, but i think its a case of i need to put more on in my painting of this.

Thanks for looking.

About countzero99uk

Im currently off work due to depression and other illness, and have decided to use miniature gaming as a way to help rebuild my concentration and confidence in myself. Ive many other hobbys which may come into this blog, but it shall mainy cover both the miniatures and scenery I buy and paint/assemble as well as my general feelings about how I am coping. View all posts by countzero99uk

One response to “White Gesso

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

